• The Crystal Cabin Award 2014 goes to DIEHL Aerospace, B/E Aerospace, Schott, ZIM Flugsitz, Lufthansa Technik, Paperclip Design and Delft Tech. University

Aircraft Interiors, Hamburg | April 8, 2014– This year’s winners of the world’s most famous and highly regarded prize for aircraft interiors have been decided. DIEHL Aerospace, B/E Aerospace, Schott, ZIM Flugsitz, Lufthansa Technik, Paperclip Design and Delft Technical University were amongst the seven winners to raise the glowing white trophies in the Ball Room of the Hotel Atlantic Kempinski on the banks Hamburg’s Outer Alster lake this evening. Just yesterday, each of the 21 finalists appeared in person before the 24 international experts of the Judging Panel for final questions. Initially, 54 submissions from 12 nations made it onto the shortlist. The Crystal Cabin Award, an initiative of Hamburg Aviation, was presented in 2014 for the eighth time during the “Aircraft Interiors Expo” cabin trade fair.

Prof. Dr Peter Vink of the Delft University of Technology, Chairman of the Judging Panel, was clearly taken with the innovation bandwidth of the winners’ concepts, commenting, “This year’s Crystal Cabin Awards winners are international role models for the industry. They have more than earned their trophies. They are impressive proof that, year after year, we keep seeing innovations in the aircraft interiors market.” The crowning of the winners in Hamburg took place in the presence of 180 selected international guests at a gala dinner.

The first Crystal Cabin Award of the evening, in the “Greener Cabin, Health, Safety & Environment” category, was presented by Judging Panel member and founder of Bishop GmbH Aeronautical Engineers, Peter Bishop, to DIEHL Aerospace. The German cabin fitting specialist has developed DACAPO, a power-saving, self-sufficient cabin system using rechargeable and replaceable battery trolleys. The trolleys can simply be swapped and the battery systems recharged during aircraft ground time.

The trophy for “Industrial Design & Visionary Concepts” was presented by Judging Panel member Michael Kaye of Germanwings. Celebrations were in order for US-based cooperative partners B/E Aerospace and Teague. Their Advanced Lavatory in a particularly slimline toilet module which allows for six additional seats to be integrated into an aircraft without sacrificing space or comfort within the toilet cabin and without restricting the space for passengers in other seating rows.

Dr Bernd Egert, Secretay of State in the Department of Economic Affairs, Transport and Innovation, crowned the victor in the “Material & Components” category, won by German glass manufacturer Schott with an innovative lightweight glass structure for cabin windows, made out of glass composites with a foil coating. The new structure is not only more robust and easier to clean than conventional window plastic; it also allows for significantly larger cabin window panes. Another major advantage is the significant reduction in both fuel consumption and emissions thanks to the enormous 40 percent weight saving.

The trophy for the “Passenger Comfort Hardware” category was presented by Ingo Wuggetzer, Vice President Cabin Innovation & Design at Airbus and member of the Judging Panel. The prize here went to ZIM Flugsitz for the short-haul and medium-haul EC-00 seat, with a new, patented backrest concept. It includes, for example, a new folding table structure, a new backrest itself, and an innovative connection between the backrest surface and the upholstery to make cleaning easier.

Katie Murphy from Reed Exhibitions, organiser of the Aircraft Interiors Expo, presented the Crystal Cabin Award for the “Passenger Comfort Systems” category to Lufthansa Technik. The Hamburg company’s acWAP is a high-speed WLAN router that even supports such data-intensive applications as video streaming and online games throughout the cabin. The  new system will already enter into operation this summer on board 20 Lufthansa Airbus A321 aircraft.

Ian Barbizon from the British trade magazine Aircraft Cabin Management announced the winner in the “Premium Class & VIP” category. The Crystal Cabin Award for this exclusive category was won by Paperclip Design from Hong Kong. The company’s victorious Convertible Long Haul Seat Concept is an innovative solution, a seating area that can be converted from Premium Economy to a Full-Flat Business Option in next to no time. This allows airlines to adapt the allocation of Business and Economy seats on a long-haul flight based on load factors.

The seventh and final award of the evening was present by the Chairman of the Judging Panel, Prof. Dr Peter Vink, for the “University” category. His was the honour as he presented the trophy to his very own TU Delft. Three students who convinced the twenty-four members of the Judging Panel with “Sense the Transitions”, an innovative in-flight entertainment concept where videos are projected onto the backrest of the seat in front, showing information about the culture, history and natural environment of the land area currently below the aircraft. Informative, interactive pop-up menus and audiovisual info graphics on a flexible OLED touchscreen display can also be integrated to add to the depth of the experience.